Wally Kyat – Where We From

Wally Kyat - Where We From

Where We From?
When asked this question the response of many tend to be the neighborhood where they grew up, a place that’s molded them to who they are today. Regardless of the geographical location, what rings true is that through life’s experiences, many of us are connected and share similar memories. “Where We from”, the debut album of Virgin Islands recording artist Wally Kyat, has eleven tracks that lends insight to those experiences, whether personal or relative from the outside looking in. With a sound centered around Reggae and Dancehall, subtle influences from R&B, Soca and Afro beats is also evident throughout. “Where We From” is an accurate representation of the Melting Pot that is the Virgin Islands in itself.
The album opens with the title track “Where We From” as it encourages listeners to accompany Wally Kyat on a journey of his childhood. A childhood that may not seem very ideal for any young adolescent to grow in but as stated in the song “even though we’re bad, this is the place where I love…. Virgin Islands grow meh, got to show meh love”.

“Where We From” also includes two features on the album from international recording artists. The first one “Poison Love” features GT Queen recording artist from Guyana, Timeka Marshall. This tracks speaks on a being intertwined in a love that is toxic and hard to let go and centers around the idea that “The hardest thing to resist is that thing that isn’t good for you”. The next feature track “Feelings” features international recording reggae artist Pressure Busspipe. This track touches a side of Wally Kyat that has never been seen before and expresses an intimate experience shared with a woman in his life.
The album closes off with a song titled “More Life” which expresses giving thanks in everything you do as we go through our individual walks of life. “Where We From” has something that everyone can relate to and is now available on all streaming platforms. To stay up to date with current and new releases follow @Wallykyat on all social media and music platforms (FB, IG, Twitter, YouTube, Apple Music, Spotify).

Gary Walters – Ghetto Child

Gary Walters - Ghetto Child

This album titled Ghetto Child is an illustration of different lifestyles. If you’re a spiritual person and you’re into gospel, If you’ve been hurt by love. There’s a dedication to people who’ve been hurt by love. The song titled House Love is a song for healing all the violence and hatred that’s going on in the world today. Ghetto Child sends a message to all the young ladies who don’t want to take parental guidance. It’s a song to keep them out of trouble, it’s a warning. Gary Walters from Barbados has been in entertainment for many years. This new album is his latest work with all songs written and sung by Gary Walters.

Gary has shared the stage with the late Jackie Opel, The Dukes, Egbert Sayers, and his Fontains and Mike Wilkinson. By fifteen he had already appeared on the Vic Brewster talent show on CBC TV and through that one appearance he received many bookings at such popular nightspots of the time, like the Caribbean Pepper Pot and the South Winds Hotel. Gary currently has more albums to his credit including Caribbean Favorites and Gary Walters Sings His Originals.

Soul Rebel Project – Someday

Soul Rebel Project - Someday

Soul Rebel Project releases the highly anticipated album “Someday” to honor the life of founding member and decade long bandmate Jay Harris who passed away from sarcoidosis complications. The album pays homage by bringing a balance of rock, dub, unique melodic composition with horn heavy grooves and screaming guitars that fans have become accustomed to. Tracks like “Cherry Haze” and “Sweet Reggae ” offer upbeat feel good vibes, while “The Fall” and “Division” show a range that spans from acoustic Ballads to conscious heavy roots. Soul Rebel Project is working with the world renowned VPAL music for this release and are two time winners of the Boston Music Awards international artist of the year in both 2018 and 2019. SRP has shared stages from coast to coast with legends , Damian Marley, Barrington Levy, Freddy Mcgregor, Lee Scratch Perry, Kabaka Pyramid, Etana, JBB, Yellowman, Stick Figure, and Redman and Methodman. With two top ten Billboard reggae albums and a grammy consideration for their 2018 release “Inspiration” , SRP’s first three albums have earned the band industry respect and a reputation as amazing writers, rooted in Rock Reggae and Dub Jam. This full length 15 track album has something for everyone and the band plans on touring in support of the project with shows lined up all over the northeast region as well as Europe.

Dean Fraser & Ernie Ranglin featuring Big Youth – De Ranglin

Dean Fraser & Ernie Ranglin featuring Big Youth - De Ranglin

Two Colors is a collaborative album between guitar legend Ernie Ranglin and saxophonist Dean Fraser, released on May 27th by Tad’s International Record. The 12-song set contains mainly instrumentals, all produced by Fraser.
The album is significant in that it pairs two of Jamaica’s most respected musicians, both of whom have worked with reggae’s greats including Bob Marley and Jimmy Cliff.
Deejay Big Youth, another reggae stalwart, is featured on De Ranglin, lead single from Two Colors which will be available on all digital platforms one month before Ranglin’s 90th birthday.
Production on Two Colors actually started in early 2021, with Fraser recording his lines in Kingston while Ranglin did his in Ocho Rios. They worked with an elite cast of musicians including bass guitarists Mikey Fletcher and Dale Haslam, keyboardists Bowie McLaughlin and Andre Marsh, drummer Desi Jones and guitarist Lamont “Monty” Savory.
Ranglin is a giant of Jamaican music. He developed his distinctive jazz riffs in the 1940s, playing in bands like the Eric Deans Orchestra and listening to greats like German guitarist Django Reinhardt.
His many achievements include arranging and playing on classic songs like Millie Small’s My Boy Lollipop and The Wailers’ It Hurts to be Alone. Ernie Ranglin is the recipient of the Order of Jamaica, Jamaica’s fifth highest honour.
Fraser is from Trench Town where Ranglin once taught guitar to young residents. Since the mid-1970s, he has recorded or toured with Marley, Dennis Brown, Sly and Robbie, Freddie McGregor, Buju Banton, Luciano and Tarrus Riley.
He was awarded the Order of Distinction, Jamaica’s sixth highest honour.
Two Colors is produced by Dean Fraser & Tad ‘Jr. Tads’ Dawkins.

Written by Howard Campbell

Jahman – War Is On The Go – Splatter House Records

JahmanWar Is On The Go - Splatter House Records

Jahman – War Is On The Go – Splatter House Records

Song Title: War Is On The Go
Artist: Jabari Jahman Carrington
Executive Producer: J. Carrington
Produced : Christopher Meredith
Mastering: Gary Noble
Engineer & Mixed By: Dean Pond
Label Info: Splatter House Records

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00