Different Rankin Riddim – VP Records

Different Rankin Riddim - VP Records

Trap-Dancehall’s heavy hitters Squash and Daddy1 as well as TeeJay, Ishawna, Christopher Martin, Gage and Ace Gawd assemble on the Different Rankin Riddim produced by two of Jamaica’s top producers, Hempton Music and ShabDon Records. King Waggy Tee from 99 JAMZ Miami includes the mix on his end of year ‘Dancehall 2020 Mixtape.’

First heard with the release of Squash’s song “Different Rankin” which appears on the Reggae Gold 2020 compilation, the title track for the Different Rankin Riddim quickly became popular with the core Dancehall market. That popularity led to the song being chosen by VP Records Senior A&R Neil ‘Diamond’ Edwards as one of the lead tracks for the Reggae Gold 2020 compilation.

Proving popular among the artists as well, the decision was made to add artists to the riddim resulting in 7 artists covering topics popular in Dancehall segments worldwide. Since the release of the music video by Trap-Dancehall King Squash, the accompanying music video has earned 2 million views on YouTube.

King Waggy Tee from 99 JAMZ (WEDR FM) in Miami picked up on the Different Rankin riddim and included it on his Dancehall 2020 Mixtape. The Mixtape features some of the hottest songs released this year which prompted the premier DJ to comment “another nice Trap Dancehall riddim brought to you by Shabdon which features artists like Squash, Daddy1, Teejay, Christopher Martin, Noah Powa. Ishawna, Gage and new artists like JDon Heights & Ace Gawd.

This one will definitely take you on a ride with the right elements included with the top track by Squash title Different Rankin.”

Dre Island – Now I Rise – Deluxe Edition

Dre Island - Now I Rise - Deluxe Edition

Dre Island, the enigmatic singer hailing from the Red Hills Rd section of Kingston, released the deluxe edition of his long-awaited debut album today. The 17-track expanded version of the album features 4 new songs. Adding to an impressive list of collaborations, Now I Rise (Deluxe Edition) features the Grammy award winning hip hop star and philanthropist Wyclef Jean, dancehall star Teejay, and Australian based Electronic artist Dub Fx.

The Deluxe Edition starts with a piano laced Introduction, which features spoken word from Dr. Martin Luther King Junior’s speech to students in Philadelphia in 1967, also known as “What is your life’s blueprint?” speech. This compelling message is coupled with excerpts from Charlie Chaplin’s “The Great Dictator,” which sound the alarm for our current times. “Same Ole Song” feat Teejay continues the set in dramatic fashion echoing the rebellious chant of generations past. Dub Fx puts his creative touch on the EDM influenced More Love. With the final track “Justice” feat Wyclef Jean rounding out the set in a dramatic tone as they lament the unfortunate death of Ahmaud Arbery and the current Black Lives Matter Movement.

Lock Down Riddim – Dj Frass Records

Lock Down Riddim - Dj Frass Records

The Lock Down Riddim is a five-song compilation produced by Grammy-Winning music producer DJ Frass of DJ Frass Records. The riddim features dancehall heavy hitter Mavado with ‘On My Mind’, dancehall’s newest sensation Moyann and Kranium’s duet ‘I got you’, the uptop boss Teejay with ‘Moon Light’, dancehall princess Shenseea with ‘Good Comfort’ and UK’s very own Chip with ‘Lock Down’.

Christopher Martin – BIG BIG – Aircraft Riddim

Christopher Martin's “Big Big” banger from the Aircraft Riddim produced by Jordan and the team at Chimney Records is here.

Christopher Martin’s  “Big Big” banger from the Aircraft Riddim produced by Jordan and the team at Chimney Records is here.  The hit riddim features fellow superstars Shenseea, Aidonia, Ding Dong and TeeJay to name a few! Stream & Download

High Rev Riddim – DJ Frass Records

High Rev Riddim - DJ Frass Records

01 Mavado – Artillery (edit)
02 Mavado – Artillery (raw)
03 Jahmiel – Nothing At All (edit)
04 Jahmiel – Nothing At All (raw)
05 Moyann – Work It (edit)
06 Moyann – Work It (raw)
07 Teejay – Kotch (edit)
08 Teejay – Kotch (raw)
09 I-Octane – High Rev
10 Zagga x Chi Ching Ching – Owner Hype (edit)
11 Zagga x Chi Ching Ching – Owner Hype (raw)
12 Ding Dong – Talk (edit)
13 Ding Dong – Talk (raw)
14 Intence – Fight (edit)
15 Intence – Fight (raw)
16 Flexxx – Gyalis From Birth (edit)
17 Flexxx – Gyalis From Birth (raw)
18 Kash – We Up (edit)
19 Kash – We Up (raw)